MANUFACTURE OF CLASSIC
BILLIARD TABLES AND
EQUIPMENT SINCE 1994
: 2021-01-25 03:26
http://en.ruptur.com/about/monarkh/
Your region:
ONLINE-CONSULTANT ruptur-consult Mo-Fr: 9.00-18.00 (Moscow)

Our Heritage

This billiard table has gone through quite a few adventures after the revolution! In 1917 the Red Army soldiers stationed at Niasvizh indulged in the “bourgeois” pastime. Russian writer Konstantin Paustovsky was treated at a local field hospital and played the billiards. In 1926 a few games with the last Niasvizh palace owner, Leon Radziwill, were played Marshall Józef Pilsudski, Polish Chief of State. In 1939 the place was visited by Russian writer Valentin Kataev who called the billiards “a silent witness of the whole epoch’s rise and fall.”

 
Antoni Wilhelm Radziwill XIV,
the first owner of the Monarch billiards
 

During World War II the German Luftwaffe pilots used the billiards for their entertainment. When retreating they took along from the castle all they could. Yet, the table had to be left behind, probably, it was bigger than any door and had been assembled in the palace. After the war the palace housed a Belarusian collective farmer health resort, which means that the farmer holiday-makers indulged themselves in billiards. The whole Belarusian Soviet Socialist Republic writer high society are also said to have played the Radziwills’ billiards.

The last safe haven for the legendary billiard table was provided by a Belarusian fire department where it all but ended its lifetime. The matter is that the Radziwills played with pool balls, while now the Russian pyramid balls of a larger diameter are more widespread. If this ball hit the pocket and ran along the chute, it often got stuck. To let it through, the poor monsters of players could find nothing better than kick the table with their boots. Therefore, the side surfaces bore the irresistible traces of the self-declared billiard players’ pounding.

After the table was set free from the fire department captivity, due to a fortunate coincidence, someone remembered the Zhodino-based RuptuR Company. Company chief Alexander Sokolov agreed to repair the ancient Radziwill billiards free of charge.

The Radziwills, a family of princes in the Grand Duchy Lithuanian and then in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, Russian Empire and Prussia.

The Monarch was transported to the Zhodino billiards production unit. As woodcarver Alexander Kotsuba said, its colour was black and the paint layer hid beneath also several floor lacquer layers. “It was not before we removed the filth that we saw how beautiful the table was: petty carved elements and the mahogany veneer design appeared.” It took the Company about three months to get ready for the restoration and to catch up with the specialist literature. The job was too sensitive and unforgiving.

- “No historian offered us any assistance, so we had to take our own decisions,” said Valery Shved, Production Director. “We had had an experience of restoring some ancient tables; one was even older, built in 1863. But that one was simpler and the responsibility involved was incomparable. We succeeded in procuring similar species of wood about a century old. How did we? We used to take some fragments of tables which were not suited for restoration any longer and used them. As far as the veneers are concerned, we had to go abroad on purpose to get some.

Three persons sweated over the Radziwill billiards. The operations were supervised by Sergei Biako, a craftsman who is universally acclaimed as “the skilful fingers.” Arts designer Gennady Zhebin told us that for the Monarch’s sake he had given up his school teacher’s career. “During this period in time I learned more about the carver’s trade than in my whole previous life,” admits Gennady.

The Monarch billiards was produced in 1896 by the Brunswiсk Company and  restored by the RuptuR Company experts in 2004.
At present it is kept at the Niasvizh culture preserve.

For two long years the craftsmen revived bit by bit the Monarch’s former grandeur. The table’s playing area was replaced in full with high-quality natural slate, while a decision was taken to preserve its Russian billiard feature which it had acquired through the Soviet epoch. Upon completion of the work the billiard table was transferred back to the Niasvizh culture preserve in the framework of an earmarked gala event.

© 2021 RuptuR Partners Контактный е-мейл: contact@ruptur.com
: 2021-01-25 03:26
http://en.ruptur.com/about/monarkh/

Производство бильярдных
столов и оборудования
для бильярда с 1994 года
Дата распечатки: 2017-11-17 20:38
http://www.ruptur.com/about/monarkh/
ONLINE-КОНСУЛЬТАНТ ruptur-consult Единый фед.номер: 8-800-500-4386 (РФ)

Наше наследие

Чего только ни пришлось испытать этому бильярдному столу после революции! В 1917 году "буржуйскому развлечению" предавались солдаты Красной Армии, которые квартировали в Несвиже. Во время первой мировой здесь в полевом госпитале лечился писатель Константин Паустовский, который играл на этом бильярде. В 1926 году несколько партий с последним хозяином дворца в Несвиже - Лионом Радзивиллом - сыграл маршал Польши Юзеф Пилсудский. В 1939 году там побывал писатель Валентин Катаев, который назвал бильярд "молчаливым свидетелем взлета и падения целой эпохи".

 
Антоний Вильгельм Радзивилл, XIV
первый владелец бильярда "Монарх"
 

Во время второй мировой на бильярде развлекались военные летчики люфтваффе. При отступлении они забрали из замка все что могли. А вот стол пришлось оставить - вероятно, он не проходил ни в одну из дверей, и его собирали прямо во дворце. После войны в Несвижском дворце была устроена "Белмежколхоз-здравница", так что бильярдом баловались отдыхающие колхозники. Говорят также, что на радзивилловском бильярде переиграл весь писательский бомонд БССР.

Последним пристанищем легендарного бильярдного стола стала одна из пожарных частей Беларуси, где он едва не закончил свой век. Дело в том, что Радзивиллы играли шарами для пула. А сейчас более распространены шары для русской пирамиды, которые шире в диаметре. Если такой шар попадал в лузу и катился по желобу, он нередко застревал. И чтобы протолкнуть его, горе-игроки не находили ничего лучшего, как садануть по столу сапогом. Так что на боковых поверхностях не осталось живого места от ударов "бильярдистов".

После того как стол вызволили из пожарной части, по счастливому совпадению кто-то вспомнил о компании "Руптур" в Жодино. Глава компании Александр Соколов согласился отремонтировать старинный радзивилловский бильярд бесплатно.

Радзивиллы – княжеский род Великого княжества Литовского,
затем Речи Посполитой, Российской империи и Пруссии.

"Монарха" привезли на бильярдное производство в Жодино. По словам резчика по дереву Александра Коцубы, он был черного цвета, а под краской оказалось еще и несколько слоев полового лака. "Только когда мы аккуратно сняли всю грязь, увидели, насколько этот стол красив: проявились мелкие резные детали, рисунок шпона из красного дерева". Около трех месяцев в компании готовились к реставрации, читали литературу. Уж больно деликатная работа, ошибок не прощает.

- Никто из историков не предложил нам помощь, так что мы сами принимали все решения, - заметил директор производства Валерий Швед. - Старинные столы мы уже восстанавливали, был один даже постарше, 1863 года выпуска. Но тот проще, да и ответственность нечего сравнивать. Мы нашли древесину аналогичных сортов столетней давности. Каким образом? Брали фрагменты столов, которые уже невозможно восстановить, и использовали. А за шпоном специально ездили за границу.

Над бильярдом Радзивиллов корпели три человека. Руководил работами, по всеобщему признанию, мастер-золотые руки Сергей Бяко. Художник-конструктор Геннадий Жебин сказал нам, что ради "Монарха" он оставил работу школьного учителя. "За это время о профессии резчика я узнал больше, чем за всю предыдущую жизнь", - признается Геннадий.

Бильярд "Монарх" изготовлен в 1896 году фирмой "Brunswiсk". Восстановлен специалистами компании "РуптуР" в 2004 году.
В настоящее время находится в Несвижском музее-заповеднике.

Целых два года мастера по крупицам возрождали былое величие "Монарха". Игровую поверхность стола полностью заменили на качественный "ардезит", а приобретенное за годы советской эпохи направление русского бильярда решили оставить. По окончании работ бильярдный стол в торжественной обстановке передали обратно в Несвижский музей-заповедник.